Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Sarasota County District 2 Race

A Democrat has not served on the Commission for over 50 years. With single member districts in place, a Democratic candidate has a chance to win the District 2 seat.

Fredd Atkins


In explaining why he was running for County Commission, Atkins said, “For too long this commission has turned its back on the citizens of the county by allowing over-development, ignoring key environmental issues and not facilitating access to affordable housing for everyone.”

Mike Cosentino


Cosentino sees unregulated development as one of the County’s top issues, and one interconnected with two other key concerns. In his words, there are “three issues in Sarasota County, and they’re all basically peas in the same pod: lack of infrastructure, over-development, and environmental degradation.”

Hagen Brody


Hagen Brody has served on the Sarasota City Commission since 2017. Brody is a Sarasota native and worked as a state prosecutor before being elected to the City Commission. His tenure on the City Commission has not been without controversy. As of March 18, he has raised over $25,000 for his campaign. Brody did not respond to interview requests.

School Board Elections

Quick profiles on the Candidates up for office

District 1: Bridget Ziegler

Outspoken republican conservative and has gained national notoriety and an endorsement from governor Ron DeSantis. She is also the co-founder of Moms for Liberty, a non-profit that campaigns against COVID-19 restrictions in schools, school curriculum that mention LGBT rights, race, critical race theory, and discrimination.

District 1: Dawnyelle Singleton

A Sarasota native running on a platform focusing on increasing the quality of life for local teachers. She is also a staunch supporter of mental health initiatives for students. Singleton is a member of the Sarasota Black Caucus and the local NAACP chapter.

District 4: Lauren Kurnov

Lauren Kurnov has an extensive background in higher education. Kurnov is running on a student-first platform that focuses on career opportunities, college placement, and maintaining Sarasota School’s “A” rating.

District 4: Robyn Marinelli

Martinelli has over 20 years working directly with local students, and spent the last 15 years of her career as a district-level administrator, overseeing Student Services for the Sarasota County School District. Marinelli has the endorsement of the Republican Party of Sarasota.

District 5: Nora Cietek

Cietek is a self-declared fiscal conservative who aims to ensure that school board spending is efficient and serves the interests of the community: “If elected, my job, and the job of every school board member will be to balance the needs of our students, teachers, and staff against our responsibility to be prudent stewards of county taxpayer dollars. “

District 5: Gregory Wood

A local business owner who is running a campaign focused on parental rights, classical education and accountability. On his website, Wood writes: “Parents and families must retain the right to make all decisions regarding their children’s health, education, and future; not teachers' unions, nor administrators, nor school board members. We parents raise our kids.”

District 4: Timothy Enos

Timothy Enos, the former chief of the Sarasota County Schools Police Department, is a latecomer to the race. Enos has received endorsements from State Rep. Tommy Gregory and the Sarasota Republican Party. Enos has stated that his 30 years of experience working with local students has allowed him to fully understand the mental health and security needs of local students.

Election Information

Aug 23, 2022 - Primary Election

Mon., July 25: Voter Registration Deadline

Sat., Aug 13 - Sun., Aug 21: Early Voting

Sat., Aug 13, 5 p.m.: Deadline to request a vote-by-mail ballot be mailed

Tues., Aug 23, 7 p.m. (election night): Voted vote-by-mail ballots must be received in the elections office

Subscribe to Receive Updates

* indicates required

Critical Times broadcast dates and times:

Monday 9:30-10 AM

Wednesday 6 - 6:30pm

Friday 6-6:30PM